Small Sculpture Prize 2018

30 March - 29 April 2018

The gallery is proud to present the Small Sculpture Prize 2018 in association with Bayleys Waiheke and Te Motu Vineyard. This is a National Award for an original free-standing or wall sculpture up to 800mm in any dimension. The selector and judge is Matthew Von Sturmer. It has a Premier Prize of $3000 and a Merit Prize of $1000.

The Winner of the Premier Prize: Motoko Watanabe for her work: 'Untitled'. Motoko describes "..This work emerged from an image I’ve had for a while. I had an idea based on that image then, it eventually found its own shape when I started working on the physical material"

The Merit award went to Anthony Densham: 'Stepping Stone'  From the series Mountains and Molehills, this work relies on paper's materiality as a means of homogenizing image with form. To dispassionately observe an obstacle reduces its weight. Stepping Stone becomes a meditation on the construction and perception of an obstacle.



Tickets to the Gala Award Ceremony and Exhibition are available online or at the gallery. $45 each.  Finalists and partners complimentary.   

Sorry, Gala Award Ceremony on Friday is Sold Out! 

However you are warmly invited to visit the exhibition over Easter, the gallery will be Open 10 - 4 over the holiday weekend and 7 days a week after that.




Online Entries open on Monday 13 November 2017.  For artists download an information sheet here. Information Sheet.

Key Dates:

Monday 13 November 2017 : Online Entries Open

Monday 11 December 2017: Closing date for submissions. 

Monday 15 January 2018: Artists advised of selection

Monday 12 March 2018: Two Print quality images to be delivered to the gallery for publicity purposes.

Friday 23 March 2018: work to have arrived at the gallery.

Friday 30 March - Sunday 29 April 2018: Exhibition dates.

Friday 30 March 2018: Gala Exhibition Opening and Award Announcement. 5pm

Wednesday 2 May 2018: Unsold works available for collection.



Sponsored By