Latest News

Winner of the Small Sculpture Prize 2020

27 June 2020 at 5:13:08 pm

The Small Sculpture Prize is a National Award for an original free-standing or wall sculpture up to 800mm in any direction and has a Premier prize of $3000

Proudly sponsored by Perpetual Guardian and in association with Te Motu, the Small Sculpture Prize is presented by the Waiheke Community Art Gallery. 

The winner of The Small Sculpture Prize 2020 is Waiheke artist Gail Barratt for her ceramic work Ecosystem Crisis.

The Benefactors Merit award went to Mark Mitchell for his work Bubble: ceramic, glass and graphite.

The People’s Choice award went to Di West for her bronze piece The Last Tree.

Congratulations to the award winners and all the finalists! Many thanks to sponsors Perpetual Guardian, and Te Motu, selector and judge Len Bell.


The following are the finalists selected by Len Bell, Associate Professor, Art History University of Auckland and visual arts writer.

The finalists this year are: Gail Barratt, Robert Barrington, Lisa Bate, Jane Bowman, Laurel Davis, Antony Densham, Jim Edge, James Edmonds, Jonathan Foley, Aaron Frater, Sarah Guppy, Volker Hawighorst, DeAnne Lawford-Smith, Sarah Lenton, Kim Logue, Holly MacKinven, Gerard McCabe, Mark Mitchell, Neke Moa, Kiya Nancarrow, Emma Rochester, Nora Shayeb, Annie Smits Sandano, Frances Studd, Murray Swan, Di Tocker, Jonathan Truslove, Clovis Viscoe, Di West.


Gail Barratt