Latest News

Winner of the Small Sculpture Prize 2018

3 April 2018 at 9:39:39 pm

The gallery is proud to present the Small Sculpture Prize 2018 in association with Bayleys Waiheke and Te Motu Vineyard. This is a National Award for an original free-standing or wall sculpture up to 800mm in any dimension. The selector and judge is Matthew Von Sturmer. It has a Premier Prize of $3000 and a Merit Prize of $1000.

The Winner of the Premier Prize: Motoko Watanabe for her work: 'Untitled'. Motoko describes "..This work emerged from an image I’ve had for a while. I had an idea based on that image then, it eventually found its own shape when I started working on the physical material"

The Merit award went to Anthony Densham: 'Stepping Stone' From the series Mountains and Molehills, this work relies on paper's materiality as a means of homogenizing image with form. To dispassionately observe an obstacle reduces its weight. Stepping Stone becomes a meditation on the construction and perception of an obstacle.

Congratualations to the winners and all of the finalists for this years event! Graeme Mackay, Larisse Hall, Bev Goodwin, Margaret Bray, Kiya Nancarrow, Antony Densham. Fran Dibble, Sue Fisher, Ainsley O'Connell, Christine Hafermalz - Wheeler, Maria Colls, Madeleine Child, Jane Downes, Barbara Robinson, Doug Marsden, Kate Elder, Janna van Hassalt, Stuart Bridson, Jane Bowman, Liz Sharek, Peter Brammer, Kim Logue, Marie Elizabeth Potter, Motoko Watanabe, Nicola McLaren, Frances Studd, Belinda Fabris, Oliver Stretton-Pow, Sally Smith, Sarah Guppy, and Johnny Turner.