Latest News

Small Sculpture Prize 2017 Award Winner announced.

19 April 2017 at 10:45:52 am

The 2017 Small Sculpture Prize is proudly presented by Bayleys Waiheke in association with the Waiheke Community Art Gallery and Te Motu Vineyard. This is a National Award for an original free-standing or wall sculpture up to 800mm in any dimension. The selector and judge this year is Dr. Zara Stanhope, Principal Curator at Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki and Adjunct Professor AUT University, Auckland.

The Award is $3000.

The Winner of this years Small Sculpture Prize is Karin Strachan for her work 'Sleeping Alone'. Wanda Gillespie was highly commended for her piece 'Boy' Warm congratulations Karin and all the finalists. Dr. Zara Stanhope's Judges notes are available here.

Images of the opening Award Ceremony by Waiheke photographer Peter Rees can be viewed here.

The finalists this year were: Emerita Baik, Patrick Barry, Karl Baxter, Trish Campbell, Jonathan Campbell, Christine Cathie, Maria Colls, Bronwynne Cornish, Jonathan Cuming, Anah Dunsheath, John Ecuyer, Kate Elder, Wanda Gillespie, Natalie Guy, Fiona Lenore, Graeme Mackay, David McGill, Nicola Mclaren, Chris Mules, Sena Park, Michael Potter, Frances Rood, Deborah Rundle, Shelley Simpson, Karin Strachan, Dave Thomas, Janna Van Hasselt, Motoko Watanabe and Melissa Young.


The exhibition runs until 15 May. Gallery  Hours: 10 - 4pm everyday.

 Karin Strachan 2